Help
Skip Navigation Links.

User Departure and Resources Lifecycle

The Account Management service enforces the standard lifecycle for computing resources at CERN: personal resources (Primary and Secondary accounts) are first blocked and then deleted, while official resources (Service accounts) are automatically transferred to the user's supervisor.

More in detail:

  • 60, 27 and 7 days before a user leaves CERN, a mail notification will remind him or her to reassign his own Service accounts (and other official resources) to the most appropriate person. If 7 days before the departure the user will still own resources that need to be reassigned, the user's supervisor will receive a reminder as well, with the list of all the official resources still owned by the supervisee.
  • On the contract end date, Service accounts still belonging to the user will be transferred to the user's supervisor.
  • 60 days after a user has left CERN, Primary and Secondary accounts will be blocked, and all static E-Groups memberships will be deleted. This grace period allows the user to still access personal resources after he or she has left CERN.
  • 180 days after a user has left CERN, Primary and Secondary accounts will be deleted. This grace period allows recovery if the user gets a new contract (e.g. affiliation renewal).

See also:

Resources Lifecycle on the CERN Resources Portal (http://cern.ch/resources)

Created: 3/27/2017
Last reviewed: 3/27/2017
Tools:
Send the page Send  |  Printable version Print